RSS

On Edict Zero’s EP305 and The Hiatus That Follows

17 Aug

The latest episode of Edict Zero, EP305 – “The Quondam Heart (II)”, was released yesterday on the show’s website. I hope fans enjoy it.

EP305 offers some tremendous moments for the story as a lead-up to a Season 3 finale. When that will happen is probably the next thing that I ought to address.

I expect to return to production in the fall. I cannot promise. Fall is my intent. Post-production is all me and it takes a lot to make the episodes sound as I want them to.

When Season Two ended, I wasn’t completely sure that Edict Zero would continue. It wasn’t because I lost faith in it, but rather I didn’t know if the changes in my life would make it possible. That’s part of the reason why I devoted so much time to the character of Captain Socrates at the end, as it was important to me that he was better understood. There was a very real possibility that EP207 would be my last word. Grim as things were, I carried on with Season 3 anyway.

Over this past year, I sacrificed more than a little in the name of art and continuing this good thing. It has had its benefits, measured by such things as greater experience for me on about all levels, telling a story as I want to tell it, and the show’s growing fan-base to whom I am indebted.

As this is a non-monetized endeavor, totally for free as I believed it should be, it hasn’t been beneficial in other areas. There are other things that I need to tend to. Have to. It wouldn’t be healthy or wise to put them off for much longer. I refer to professional and life things alike.

Even having said that, I have zero regrets. I am proud as hell of the last five episodes. Edict Zero may not have the promotional machine that some other shows employ and big names of the moment shouting its praises from the rooftops, but make no mistake, the eyes of time see what was done here. I know it. I would take none of it back. The upward curve has gone into the sky. I could not be happier with its evolution.

In short, Edict Zero will return. It just may be a little while before that happens. I hope for Fall. This is a good thing that we have going. Unless I meet an untimely demise, I will see it to an eventual conclusion. 😉

Patience requested.

Thanks, everybody.

Cheers.

–Jack Kincaid

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “On Edict Zero’s EP305 and The Hiatus That Follows

  1. Jennifer dixon

    August 17, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Many good wishes Jack for whatever the future may bring!
    Love working with you.

     
  2. Mars Guy Phil

    August 17, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Too much has been set up in Ep305 to stop now! Jules’ scene at the end was quite powerful, and I’m fascinated to see what consquences will stem from the Ambassador’s visit to (spoiler…)

    I will say again that the real gem of the season was Ep303, “No Bounds”. I love the Captain, but you’ve (plural) exposed the Ambassador as a sympathetic character… and now I’m rooting for him just as much as I’m rooting for the Agents.

    Most suitable! My thanks to you and to your excellent cast.

     
  3. Jack Kincaid

    August 22, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    I love working with you too, Jenny. Cheers.

    Thanks, Mars Guy! Glad to have you as a listener.

     
  4. John Harr

    September 5, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    Jack I’ve listened to a lot of stuff in my 66+ years, and can say without doubt that your’s is the absolute best. You remind me of a young Orson Wells, multitalented, always amazing, surrounding himself with the best …. Hope someday you get to be old and fat and sell lots of wine before it’s time. You’ve given me many happy and entertaining hours. Thank you. John.

     
  5. Jack Kincaid

    September 5, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    Thanks, John. I’m honored by your words. At every notch along the way, I did the best I could with it, gave it all I had, and then pushed to do better with the next. Fundamentally, I compete with myself. That’s the best approach, I find. I hope to do more before too long. I sacrificed to get Edict Zero where it is, as I would anything that I believe in, and rolled the dice. As I said, no regrets. I’ll hope for good karma. Cheers.

     
  6. KevinTeixeira

    January 8, 2014 at 4:11 am

    Who ever you are you have produced a great work of Sci-Fi. I have been reading Sci-fi for almost 50 years. Plot twists and interesting ideas are always important, but you have created some very memorable characters which many sci-fi stories lack. I listened to all the episodes over the last two weeks, and re-listened to season 3 after finishing it. The vocal talent and soundscapes you have put together are first class. I wrote a sci-fi novel myself (Virtual Soul) and appreciate how hard this is to do. That you can continue to surprise me with suggestions of future plot twists and character evolutions puts a big fat smile on my face. Keep it up!! Keep writing!! I await the finale to season 3 and hope for 4, or more.

     
  7. Jack Kincaid

    January 8, 2014 at 8:54 pm

    Thank you for the kind words. When I receive a comment like yours, it’s reassuring and so greatly appreciated. If given choices, I would dive back into production at once and roll on, as I think I created a good thing. In time, I will continue it and finish what I started. When able. Thanks so much. Cheers!

    –Jack

     
  8. Luke Davis

    January 31, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    Jack,

    Really enjoy and appreciate what you and your voice actors have been able to do with this concept. I’ve been reading science fiction for my entire life, and being blind, it has all been audio in one form or another. However, it is rarely originally meant to be in that form, and of course in TV/film sci-fi, something is invariably lost, even though I am expert at interpreting what is going on. I was very interested in the Edict Zero project when I heard of it, and I have not been disappointed. It’s great to hear such a well done update of the old radio drama idea, coupled with a cutting edge story concept and top level voice and engineering work.

    Being a sound engineer myself, and a perfectionist, I know the countless hours that can be spent doing a project like this, that most people will never grasp or even think about. So, for the record, there are people out here who do have some idea of how hard it can be to put together a project that relies so heavily on sound quality and stereo field placement, and all of the other little (insane number of) details that must be juggled to do what you are doing. My thanks and congratulations sir, for so excellent a result.

    P.S. Dockstader kicks ass!

     
  9. Jack Kincaid

    February 10, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    Thanks, Luke. The comments are much appreciated. I’m thrilled that Edict Zero brought you such enjoyment. As you’re a sound engineer, I’m doubly honored by your praise and I continue to be honored by how much this show means to so many. My only regret is that I’m not in a position to continue producing it right now. I hope to get back to it some day. That it has been so appreciated is a wonderful thing. Cheers.

    –Jack

     
  10. Kevin Teixeira

    March 11, 2014 at 6:19 am

    My 21 year old son and I have listened to this series 4-5 times, in-order, out of order, and on a long road trip. We’ve debated, analyzed and speculated about the plot, characters and meaning of it all. Just when we have it all figured out the DOI and the “shadow group” show up. Enjoying it all. Just one thing — we need more! At least finish the season, pleeeeze.

     
  11. Sai

    March 15, 2014 at 1:05 am

    I just wanted to say I recently found your show and fell in love with it. Though I am so sad to see that it is on hiatus. I don’t know how I’ll wait after being able to get all the answers in just a few days. Hope to see it come back. And just wanted to let you know you are doing a great job.

     
  12. Jack Kincaid

    March 26, 2014 at 11:26 pm

    Thanks for the appreciation. I’m glad people continue to enjoy what I managed to get out there. Cheers.

     
  13. GARRET JUMPED!?!?!?

    April 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    Its April 2014 as I write this. No finale has been made nor announced. I’m somewhat frustrated. That only shows how much I care about the story you created.

    Dude, you take all the time you need, if you’re going to finish it at all. Don’t rush it. Better to take an extra year and make it as good as you want it or rush because the fans are restless. But if you never come back to Edict Zero, that’s OK. We’ll keep what we have.

     
  14. Jack Kincaid

    December 17, 2014 at 8:19 am

    I’m sorry to have kept you waiting. Edict Zero has returned to the production stage for EP306, and EP307 will be the season finale. No release dates yet, but it’s happening.

     

Leave a Reply

 
